From SF to SF

In late February of 2011, I made the trip that I’ll be making today. I arrived at the San Francisco International Airport, spend the night there, woke before dawn and took the BART to the Embarcadero, bought Amtrak tickets to Yosemite, enjoyed a bit of San Francisco and then rambled on into the park via a series of buses and trains. I’m thankful for the chance to do that very thing again. I’m looking forward to slow coffee in the airport (which I’m sure I’ll never be able to view in the same way again), people-watching and getting people-looked-at, briefly touching upon San Francisco (w/ aims of picking up some decent to good tea) and arriving in Yosemite, being hit with the fresh scent of what some would call “home”, and seeking out familiar faces.

Unfortunately, today I also leave Sandra Farms. I leave with fondness of heart as this mountain coffee plantation and roastery is wonderful, as are the owners- Israel and Sandra Gonzalez. They’ve been very good to me, and I’ve enjoyed the opportunity to become part of their livelihood and lives for this all too brief period of time. They’ve certainly lived quite the lives, and enjoy telling the stories of their experiences, whether they be of serving in the Peace Corps in Bolivia, escaping the Cuban revolution, the beginnings of becoming a specialty coffee producer, starting a family while living in the Bronx and attending Columbia Graduate School on $10 a week, and much, much more. Here are a few pictures from my stay. I still have a book to finish and a bit of packing left to do before I take off, so I’ll be leaving this one brief, and unfortunately, doing my stay a great injustice. Fantastic people, fantastic place, and I look forward to visiting again, and hope for others to be able to come along as well.

If you’d like more information on Sandra Farms Coffee, check out http://www.sandrafarms.com.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA“Juan Lobo”

GE DIGITAL CAMERAOne of my Favorite Lookout PointsGE DIGITAL CAMERA
GE DIGITAL CAMERACoffee. Yet to ripen, yet to be picked. The aroma of the bloom is wonderful.GE DIGITAL CAMERA
GE DIGITAL CAMERAThe Washing and Hulling Equipment. An Ecological Engineering Feat from Colombia. Fueled by last year’s coffee hulls, uses minute amounts of water, produces byproducts of a sugar that can be converted into ethanol and coffee mulch fertilizer.GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Israel roasting.GE DIGITAL CAMERA
Green beans in bulk. Heading to the co-op.GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

One response

  1. Thank you Taylor. Amazin’!

    May 1, 2013 at 7:06 am

Leave a Reply

