Sleepy/Cynical/ESL

Image

Yesterday I was invited to head to East Lansing to help out with an ESL program meeting at a church. The bulk of those attending were from Nepal. I went. It was very good and very much not what I was expecting. I don’t know the girls in the picture above, but apparently they’re Nepalese. And, well, these people from Nepal that I did meet- they tend to be considered Nepalese. That’s the connection.

When we got there, we were assigned different tasks according to our interests and abilities. I was pretty ambivalent about where I was going to be placed and ended up helping out with a multicultural youth group. I also got to spend some extra time speaking to the 10th-12th grade guys attending. There were three of them. Two were Americans who had grown up in the church and the other was a Nepalese Hindi.

I was really looking forward to talking to them. I thought to myself, “I’m really going to speak to these kids hearts. Relate these things and make them real. I think God is going to speak and impact their lives tonight…”

Ha.

When people aren’t interested in what others have to say or don’t care to think about things deeply, it really dampers that wonderfully engaging environment suitable for profound insights.

These kids weren’t having any of it. Kamal, the Hindi boy humored me but that was as far as I got… We did talk about tea, mountains, prayer flags and Ganesha though. That was nice.

Anyway- some people don’t care to get deep or serious about things too often. I like to contemplate things on a regular basis, but, that’s just me. I don’t know if it was their ages (probably) or what. Maybe it had to do with the story related to them earlier in the evening. The parable of the prodigal son, except modernized into an anecdote about a businessman with a penchant for Gucci. Who still travels by donkey. (Huh?)

Anyway, who knows what those guys got out of the experience. I’d like to say nothing, but I definitely can’t with any authority of any sort. Maybe that seed- yeah.

 

In the words of Liam Lynch-

“Whatever.”

It was good to be there. Discouraging, but an eye-opening experience of sorts. I’ve been having those lately. And on a fairly similar note, I’d like to go to Mongolia… Sorry about the cynicism, didn’t get much sleep last night. I have a car and a cell phone number. Strangely enough though- that wasn’t the cause of my sleeplessness.

If you’re reading this, have a good one. You probably didn’t get anything out of this, but sometimes that’s quite alright…

-Taylor

Leave a Reply

