241 Days

That’s exactly how long it has been since I last wrote on here.

While sitting here drinking tea I wonder silently to myself what I should write and I think “While sitting here drinking tea I wonder silently to myself what I should write and I think while sitting here drinking tea I wonder silently to myself what I should write and I think while sitting here drinking tea I wonder silently to myself what I should write and I think….”

The Sunrise from on top of Half Dome. Applicable, eh? Because… the sun comes up (pretty much) every morning and I think a morning is going to come tomorrow, you know? That’s less than 14 hours away!

My New Year’s Resolution is not to write on here. No, it’s not not to write on here. But writing on here is not my New Year’s Resolution. Does that make sense?

Ok. I’ll be serious now. 

      This has been the most incredible year of my life so far. The most formative, changing time that I’ve had on this planet thus far. I am absolutely thankful for the people, things, ideas, experiences and teachings that have been catalysts for that. My New Year’s Resolution is simply to continue in that direction. To continue to strive and struggle, not be complacent, work on perspective, learn, experience and be humbled. If I had to choose one specific thing to learn from this year it would be the Bible. Without a doubt, it is absolutely full of wisdom and value. I’m already aware, however, that there are quite a few books like that. But what I’d like to focus on are the things that seem set this compilation of writings apart from the rest. So, that’s my New Years Resolution. To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield especially when it comes to a thorough study of the Bible.

Not that this day is anything unbelievably special. Just think, New Year’s Eve comes every year, but every single specific day happens only once- ever. As a matter of fact, if you’re in Samoa, some days don’t even happen.

     I’d like to take this moment to encourage anyone who reads this to find the right perspective every day, view things in light of it and act upon it.  I’m not going to tell you what this perspective is. I don’t know myself. But I’m working on it. And I don’t want to jump to conclusions, but in my opinion, if I had to elaborate right now: I think that even more than myself working on “it”, “it” is working on me…

 Unrelated Quote:

“The Chautauquas were pushed aside by faster-paced radio, movies and TV, and it seems to me the change was not entirely an improvement. Perhaps because of these changes the stream of national consciousness moves faster now, and is broader, but it seems to run less deep.” -Robert M. Pirsig Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance 

(Don’t let the words “consciousness” and “zen” in that last text distract you from what the quote actually says…)

Leave a Reply

